Monday, May 11, 2009

OM Educator Is Teacher Of The Year

From HoCo school system:

The Howard County Public School System has announced its new Teacher of the Year, as well as the winners of four other awards for educational staff.

Kimberly Feldman, an English teacher at Oakland Mills High School, was named Howard County Teacher of the Year for 2009. This award exemplifies the highest standards in teaching and educational leadership. Feldman will represent HCPSS in the Maryland Teacher of the Year competition, sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education.

Tara Brown, a kindergarten teacher at Talbott Springs Elementary, and Brian Sackett, an English teacher at Atholton High School, were named HCPSS First Year Educators in the elementary and secondary categories respectively. This award recognizes new teachers who demonstrate exceptional skill in instruction, communication, and interaction with students.

Kristie Dietrich, an elementary inclusion paraeducator at Cedar Lane School, and Erik Burnett, a Black Student Achievement Program transition assistant at Atholton High School, were named winners of the annual Distinguished Assistant Award in the special and general education categories respectively. This award recognizes outstanding educational assistants who serve a critical role in students’ success.

Gary Williams, night building supervisor at Rockburn Elementary School, is the winner of the Excellence Award for Building Operations. This award recognizes an employee who demonstrates outstanding performance, professionalism, and resourcefulness while helping to ensure a well-managed, smoothly running infrastructure.

Nancy Duffy, principal’s secretary at River Hill High School, is the Office Professional Recognition Award winner for 2009. This award recognizes the important contributions of administrative assistants and other office staff in creating a positive educational environment.

Superintendent Sydney L. Cousin made surprise visits to each winner’s school to announce the awards. The winners will also be honored at the annual HCPSS “In Honor of Excellence” celebration on May 19.

Here's a link to Sun story on the award.

No comments: